On May 2, 1981, thirteen two-year college instructors met at the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) Michigan section meeting at Oakland University. Karen Sharp called the meeting, explaining the need for a Michigan section of the American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC).

The organization was founded to provide a venue for interaction between the mathematics faculties at community colleges across the State of Michigan. An opportunity to share ideas, consolidate resources, and plan for the future needs of community college students in the state became primary functions of MichMATYC, as well as connecting to university mathematics.

Constitution and Bylaws

The organizational rules and policies are contained in the MichMATYC Constitution.

Past Presidents and Conferences

Term President(s) Conferences
2017-2019 Anna Cox, Kellogg CC 2018: Kalamazoo Valley CC
2017: Baker College of Muskegon
2015-2017 Cindie Wade, St. Clair County CC
Doug Mace, Kirtland CC
2016: Delta College
2015: Macomb CC
2013-2015 Jack Rotman, Lansing CC 2014: Lake Michigan College
2013: Oakland CC, Orchard Ridge Campus
2011-2013 Bernard Cunningham, Mott CC 2012: Monroe County CC
2011: Lansing CC
2009-2011 Maria Andersen, Muskegon CC 2010: Muskegon CC
2009: Henry Ford College
2007-2009 Lisa Winch, Kalamazoo Valley CC 2008: Delta College
2007: Mott CC
2005-2007 Phoebe Lutz, Delta College 2006: Kalamazoo Valley CC
2005: Kirtland CC
2003-2005 Jan Roy, Montcalm CC 2004: Grand Rapids CC
2003: Lansing CC
2001-2003 Cindie Wade, St. Clair County CC 2002: Monroe County CC
2001: Henry Ford College
1999-2001 Jim Ham, Delta College 2000: Delta College
1999: North Central Michigan College
Summer Workshop (Grand Rapids CC)
1998-1999 Doug Mace, Baker College of Flint 1998: Macomb CC
Summer Workshop (Grand Rapids CC)
1997-1998 Gladys Rockind, Oakland CC, Auburn Hills 1997: Kalamazoo Valley CC
1996-1997 Anita Johnston, Jackson College 1996: Jackson College
Summer Workshop (Grand Rapids CC)
1995-1996 Janina Udrys, Schoolcraft College 1995: Schoolcraft College
Summer Workshop (Grand Rapids CC)
1994-1995 Jim Chesla, Grand Rapids CC 1994: Delta College
1993-1994 Lowell Stultz, Kalamazoo Valley CC 1993: Oakland CC, Auburn Hills Campus
1992-1993 Jim Roznowski, Delta College 1992: Grand Rapids CC
1991-1992 Jack Rotman, Lansing CC 1991: Lansing CC
1989-1991 Dawn Schmidt, Delta College 1990: Delta College
1989: Kalamazoo Valley CC
1987-1989 Barbara Near, Henry Ford College 1988: Washtenaw CC
1987: Delta College
1985-1987 Nancy Williams, Oakland CC 1986: Lansing CC
1985: Washtenaw CC
1983-1985 Karen Sharp, Mott CC
1981-1983 James Verhanovitz, Delta College